Hello, and welcome back.  I’d like to spend some time today talking about the wheel.  And I know that you all are wondering what the hell I’m going to be going on about.  Have no fear, I will have a point (eventually).  Back in the day (a Tuesday, I believe), man had it rough.  They had all this stuff that they needed to move around, and they ended up having to drag it from place to place.  Now that can get real old real quick, as most of you probably know.  Then one day, some really smart cromagnon guy (maybe girl, I don’t know) figured out that if I have something round underneath all of this stuff it moves much easier.  Thusly, the wheel was invented.  Now, over the millenia, man has tried to improve on the wheel, as is human nature.  However, you really can’t improve the wheel, it’s the perfect invention.  Thank you for indulging me, as I finally get to my point.  Exercise is similar to the wheel.  Exercise, in some form, has been around since basically the dawn of mankind.  We lift, push, move and pull things every single day.  That is work and yes, that is exercise.  But in our infinite wisdom, we keep trying to improve on exercise.  Now we have machines that work this and machines that mimic that.  We are trying to re-invent the exercise wheel.  Unfortunately, the same things seem to be true.  You can’t improve on the basics.  We have these HUGE weight sleds (leg presses) that are designed to provide weight to the lower body.  Let me ask you, when was the last time that someone asked you to sit in a chair or lie on your back and push something with your legs?  Now let me ask you the last time you had to stand out of a chair or pick something (a toddler, perhaps) off the ground?  These are your basic squatting movements.  And if you d0 these things on a daily basis, you should do them in the gym.  “But my back…..but my knees….”  If the basics are done properly, there should be no pain whatsoever, but you have to do it right.  My point is, in our daily lives, we are never asked to sit at a machine and move a stack of weight in a predetermined movement pattern (that probably doesn’t fit our body anyway), but we are asked to move our body weight and awkward free weights virtually every day.  These are the movements that are going to make you more fit and functional.  It’s your squat and your press, not your leg extension and bicep curl.  The simpler your workout stays, the better off you are going to be in the long-run.  My client’s rarely will set butt on a machine for anything.  There are a few exceptions of course, but for the most part we are lifting body and free weights from the beginning of our time together.  Because in the long run, that is what is going to benefit them most.  And isn’t that the ultimate goal?  Learn to move, so you don’t get yourself hurt?

PS – If you like my blog, please help me spread the word.  Re-post and link up.  I appreciate it.

