You would never go see an unlicensed massage therapist, right?  Or Chiropractor? Or Personal Trainer (you know NPTI trainers are and are the best).  As more and more professions in our industry move towards regulation and licensing, it’s important to be careful with your body.  Screen your professionals, especially “holistic” ones.  In particular, one profession is fighting legislation and regulation tooth and nail.  It’s Yoga.  Why, I don’t know, but it’s even gone as far in some places the yoga “professionals” have taken protests to state legislators to keep themselves unregulated.  You’d think regulation would be a good thing.  A badge that you could wear proudly.  What are they afraid of?  Exposure?  Many people in these unlicensed fields have no business working with the human body.  Contorting it into places that it shouldn’t be in.  Unlicensed instructors can cause incapable people to do or try things that have no place in human movement.  This can lead to injuries to the rotator cuff, spine and even cases of arterial tears.  Statistically, yoga reports no more or fewer injuries than any other physical activity, but it’s believed that it’s because many go unreported.  I’m not saying that yoga is terrible.  Personally, I’m not a fan and think it’s more potential harm than good, but I’m sure I’ll catch a lot of flak for that.  I think people should be more mobile and less yoga-ee.  But it’s my blog and I can say what I want.  HaHa, take that.  Anyway, what I would suggest, if you are going to go the yoga route is screen your teacher.  Sit and observe a class or 2 before jumping in.  Do they allow people to modify poses, or do they imply that anyone can do the most advanced if they just let their body go and try.  Not everyone can and not everyone should.  Don’t be a statistic.

