fit·ness/ˈfitnis/

Noun:
  1. The condition of being physically fit and healthy.
  2. The quality of being suitable to fulfill a particular role or task.
What does this mean to you?  Admittedly, there are probably a multitude of different answers that could fit.  But here’s what it means to ME.  I actually like to take the 2nd definition, because it is much more specific to what I believe.  The quality of being suitable to fulfill a particular role or task.  Well, how many different tasks are you asked to accomplish in any given day?  If you’re like me, it’s a bunch.  Teacher, trainer, husband, daddy and exercise enthusiast just to name a few.  So in order to fill all my hats, I have to be very multi-modal in the way that I am “fit”.  That is why I work the way I do.  I practice multiple modes of fitness….cardiovascular, resistance, gymnastic, neural, etc.  But it also means that I have to exercise my senses and brains.  That is part of the reason I write.  Keeps me sharp.  I read…..a lot.  Between things I HAVE to read for work and education and things that I’d LIKE to read, I may never get done.  But all those different things keep us what I consider “fit”.  Fitness takes more into account than just your ability to run a marathon.  Or bench press 400 pounds.  I know a lot of people who can do both whom I would not consider to be shining beacons of total overall fitness.  So what is YOUR definition of fitness?  I’d like to hear.  And whatever it is, keep at it.
