So, I know that I’ve written about this before, but it seems that I’m finally gaining some support for my cause.  As “The Biggest Loser” continues to air on television, it continues to make my job harder and harder.  It gives people an unrealistic view of what weight loss and a healthy lifestyle should look like.  Hell, even Richard Simmons is on my side.  He came out this past week and lambasted Loser for their methodologies.  Putting people in competition with each other in terms of weight loss.  Kicking people off a show if they did not lose enough.  It’s a little (well maybe a lot) ridiculous.  If you can’t even get Richard Simmons on your side????  This guy has been the ultimate cheerleader for decades.  If HE says the show sucks, then that must really say something.  I’ve rattled my opinions about Loser before.  How un-healthy and un-realistic it really is.  You cannot lose that much weight in that short of a time, and expect to keep it off.  And I’ve got statistics to back my opinion up.  In follow up studies, 95% of contestants have gained the weight back.  Remember the guy who won season 1?  All but 13 pounds are back, at last count.  Glad the effort and humiliation were worth it.  The problem is that you don’t LEARN anything.  You don’t learn about healthy eating…..you learn about starving.  You don’t learn about activity…..you learn about working out like it was your JOB 6 hours a day.  Because we can all do that.  The simplest word for it is stupid.  It does not have any redeeming qualities at all.  And if you think that the airing station gives a rat’s ass about the contestants, then you’re wrong again.  You think Jillian, Bob, Anna, and whatever other god-awful trainers they have this season really honestly CARE whether those people gain, lose or otherwise?  Again….maybe in the moment.  I’ll bet that they haven’t been reaching out to the rest of the contestants to check in.  I could be wrong (wouldn’t be the first time), but I doubt it.  It just bothers me.  I have worked in this field for over a decade and have been educating trainers for almost a decade.  We teach lifestyle.  We teach long term.  And with something like this, it completely undercuts years of hard work with one swoop.  It takes away from what trainers really do.  if you are a trainer, you know what I’m talking about.  If you’re not, hire one and ask them.

