You are what you eat.  You are what you do.  It is the basic mantras that our parents have been teaching us since we were the smallest of the small.  If you lie, cheat and steal, you will be lied to, cheated on and stolen from.  Makes sense, right?  One of the things that peeves me the most is hearing people just simply ignore these simple truths.  In our current day and age, nothing is ever anybody’s fault.  Or better, everything is someone else’s fault.  No one is willing to stand up and take responsibility for their own actions or choices.  It’s not my fault that I spilled coffee and burned myself, it’s McDonald’s fault for making it too hot.  It’s not my kid’s fault that he/she gets bad grades, the teacher doesn’t like him/her.  It’s not my fault that I’m obese.  It’s the fast food industry, or commercials or my mom and dad, or whatever the excuse of the day is.  Stand up, people.  Take responsibility.  You are what you eat!  If you eat well, you will be healthy.  If you eat garbage, your body will respond like garbage.  You have to make conscious choices.  Ketchup is not a vegetable, and jello is not a fruit.  These are simple things.  You can’t get all of your vitamins from supplements and expect it to be the same.  Eat food….GOOD food.  Exercise.  Now, I know that choices are not the ONLY reason that people become overweight and obese.  But 1 out of 3 adults and 1 out of 5 kids (KIDS!) are not obese because of glandular issues, hormones or big bones. People have been searching for the fountain of youth since the days of the Spanish Armada.  This is it.  Eat and exercise.  Way too simple to make sense, but at the same time, way too hard for most people to adhere to.

