OK, part 2 of my “Pick One” series.  Today you must tell me what is your favorite HEALTHY snack food.  And why?  For me, this was a bit of a tough one.  I DO love trail mix (usually with Almonds and cashews and raisins).  Great fats, and some sweet, but ultimately, I cannot do trail mix without M&M’s (Mars bastards!), so it’s OUT as a healthy snack and just a snack.  However, that made the choice for my fave healthy snack pretty easy and obvious.  It’s homemade guacamole.  We have it in the house pretty regularly, in season or out.  If you look at guacamole, there is not a single BAD thing in it.  People will say that the avocados are high in fat, but that, as you know, is balderdash (Ha!  I got to use the word “balderdash” in a sentence).  Avocados provide us with the essential Omega-6 fatty acids that many people have out of balance.  We get so concerned about Omega-3’s that we forget about the balance that is required for the brain and body to properly function.  They are also rich in Vitamin C, Vitamin K, Folate and Potassium just to name a few.  Not to mention a full 10g of dietary fiber.  Plus, if you make it like I do, it’s chock full of other stuff like fresh tomatoes, garlic, cilantro, lime and even a hint of hot pepper.  And the nice thing about it is that in season, I will grow everything except the limes and avocados myself.  Easy.  So grab a chip and dig in!  And tell me what is YOUR favorite healthy snack-time treat?

avocado

