It gets me every time.  People who think that because they have a hobby, they know everything that there is to know about it.  I have been studying the human body and exercise science for 20 years now.  Do you know what I know?  I know that there is a lot that I don’t know.  I know that what we thought that we knew then is different now.  Because in terms of REAL advanced scientific research, the fitness field is in toddler-hood.  yet I will see exerciser after exerciser and trainer after trainer not willing to learn.  They simply want confirmation of what they THINK that they know.  Then when the answer comes back differently, they pout.  It drives me nuts.  I do my best at all times to keep up on the most current research and trends in the field, and to incorporate them into my teachings.  When there are subject matter experts in my classes, I will often consult their knowledge and opinions.  It does not make me smaller to admit that I don’t know everything.  As much as I’d like to be omnipotent and omniscient, I’m just not.  And no one else is, either.  So, if you’re on your high horse and thinking that you know it all, get on off now.  I may have a unique insight into our field.  I may know a lot of information.  But what I don’t know is a big file of stuff.  I’m still learning, and hope to be doing so for the rest of my career.  I just wish certain other people in our field felt the same.

